Quality news, views and analysis of issues that affect and inform us in the Douglas Shire.

AUSTRALIA DAY AWARDS / Announcing the Douglas Shire Nominees


Local legends will be celebrated at tomorrow’s Australia Day Awards across seven categories recognising exemplary service and achievement. 28 new Australian citizens will also be welcomed in the Citizenship Ceremony.

A public breakfast barbeque hosted by the Port Douglas Neighbourhood Centre kicks off at 7.30 am, while the subsequent Awards and Ceremony will be COVID-safe events with attendance restricted to award winners, new citizens and limited guests.

Mayor Kerr describes the Australia Day Award nominees as truly amazing people who deserve recognition for their services to our community.

NOMINEES for Citizen of the Year 

Julia Leu

Sheena Walshaw

Maeve Pedemay

Maria Atkinson

Ashleigh Whyte

Paul Makin

This award recognises outstanding members of the community for their personal endeavours, achievements and community involvement.

NOMINEES for Young Citizen of the Year 

Raine Ward

Angela Brischetto

This award recognises young citizens aged 25 years or under for their personal endeavours, achievements and community involvement.

NOMINEES for Junior and Senior Sporting Awards

Couper Smith

Jack Sampson

Chris Bradsworth

Jack Murday

Joshua Lea

OTHER NOMINEES across the categories Volunteer of the Year, Arts & Culture, Environmental Achievement

Geoff Goodwin

Pauline Halsall

Craig Mitchell

Rose Watts

Noel Weare

Raine Ward

Juan Walker

Caitlin O’Neil

Alyssa Jackson

Bob Perry

Clint Reynolds

Margie Welham

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Do you enjoy our news & views? Please share our site!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x